New York University: Three Members of the NYU Community Chosen to Serve on the ‘New’ New York Blue-Ribbon Panel

Governor Kathy Hochul and New York City Mayor Eric Adams recently appointed 54 leaders from across New York City’s business, labor, academic, nonprofit, and philanthropic sectors to join the “New” New York blue-ribbon panel, which will examine the future of New York City and the region’s economy. Among them, are three prominent members of the NYU community—NYU School of Professional Studies Dean Angie Kamath, NYU Wagner Professor of Urban Policy and Planning Mitchell L. Moss, and Wagner Public Service Fellow and Tandon School of Engineering Visiting Professor Richard R. Buery, Jr. (panel co-chair), who have been appointed to serve alongside leaders charged with developing actionable strategies that will focus on the recovery of the City’s commercial districts, as well as address the many challenges the City has faced from the COVID-19 pandemic, and longstanding local and regional issues.

Blue-ribbon panelists represent a cross-section of those who call New York home, and who have demonstrated their ability to develop the innovative policies and initiatives required to jumpstart the City’s economy and to drive growth across business sectors in the five boroughs and beyond. As part of their shared responsibility, members of the blue-ribbon panel will examine critical issues related to use of space in commercial centers, where and how people work, and how to ensure that New York City’s post-pandemic economy serves people from all walks of life and all economic backgrounds.

“We are absolutely thrilled to have three members of the NYU community named to this important panel—each with their own expertise and deep knowledge to share,” said NYU President Andrew Hamilton. New York University is part of the very fabric of this great city and we are honored and privileged to lend out support to this critical initiative. The entire university community extends its heartfelt congratulations to Dean Angie Kamath, Professor Mitchell Moss, and Public Service Fellow and Visiting Professor Richard Buery in being selected for this important role.”