NIT Rourkela bagged the winners trophy in men’s Football, Kabaddi and Kho kho competition

Rourkela: National Institute of Technology (NIT), Rourkela hosted all India Inter NIT competition for Football, Kabaddi (Men and Women) and Kho Kho (Men and Women). NIT, Rourkela won the men’s kho kho, men’s Kabaddi and men’s Football trophy as the institute emerged as the winner. In men’s kho kho, there 13 teams in the race. All the teams were divided into four pools. The final match was held between NIT Rourkela and NIT Raipur. In the end, NIT Rourkela emerged as the winner while NIT Raipur became the runners-up and SVNIT Surat became the second runners-up. In the women kho kho, there were 10 teams, divided into three pools. Here NIT Trichy became the winner.
In men’s Kabaddi total 19 teams participated. In this match, NIT Rourkela defeated NIT Surat and bagged the trophy. In the women Kabaddi category, the final match was played between NIT Delhi and NIT Raipur. Defeating Raipur, NIT Delhi bagged the trophy.
In men’s football, institute teams from 26 NITs from all over India had participated. These teams were divided into 8 pools with three or four teams in each pool. A total of 30 matches were played in the group stages. The final football match was played between NIT Meghalaya and NIT Rourkela. In this match, NIT Rourkela won over NIT Meghalaya with a margin of 1-0. Sonam Zango from NIT Rourkela was declared as the best player and Khamon Lian was awarded the best Goalkeeper Award.
In the beginning, the director professor Animesh Biswas declared All India Inter NIT open. After this, the competition started. The Inter NIT and the Institute flags were hoisted by the Director and Dean Student Welfare professor Simanchal Panigrahi. Dignitaries such as Professor Saroj Kumar Patel (Registrar), Professor. B.C. Ray, Professor. Snehashish Chakraverty (President, SAC), Prof.essor Samit Ari (Vice-President, Games and Sports Society, SAC), and Dr. Prashant from NIT Goa as an observer graced the end of the Inter NIT. Teams from 26 different NIT’s across India represented their respective institute as they participated in the competition.