Nobel Laureate, Prof Takaaki Kajita to deliver lecture in ‘Centenary Science Webinar’


Aligarh: Nobel Laureate, Prof Takaaki Kajita will delineate gravitational waves as a rich source of information on the early universe and the various means to probe the fundamental laws of nature in his talk, titled, ‘Exploring the Universe with Gravitational Waves’ at 10: 00 am during the inaugural function of the three-day ‘Centenary Science Webinar on Contemporary Topics’ organised by the Faculty of Science, Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) on February 28.

The lecture and the inaugural function beginning at 9: 00 am on the day can be attended on the link, ‘’.

Prof Kajita was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics jointly with Canadian physicist Arthur B McDonald in 2015 for their discovery that ‘subatomic particles called neutrinos have mass’.

AMU Vice Chancellor Prof Tariq Mansoor is the Chief Guest of the event and Pro Vice Chancellor, Prof Zaheeruddin is the Guest of Honour.

The events of the second day on March 1 will be available at ‘ MTID=eb35dd22326229bb83bc0272481357d63’ and the final day proceedings on March 2 can be attended on the link, ‘’

A galaxy of luminaries prominent in various branches of knowledge who will deliver lectures in the three-day programme are Prof V Balram (CSIR–NGRI, Hyderabad), Prof Anny Cazenave (Director, ISSI, Switzerland), Prof Donald S Passman (Emeritus Professor, University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA), Prof K K Aggarwal (Founder and Former VC, GGS–IP Univ., Delhi), Prof Dr Detlef Bahnemann (Leibniz Universitaet Hannover, Germany), Prof P Balaram (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore), Prof Bimal Sinha (University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA), Prof Peter Hale Molnar (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA), Prof Christopher Bryant (Montreal University, Canada), Prof R B Singh (University of Delhi), Prof Shakeel Ahmed (Emeritus Scientist, Remote Sensing and GIS, CSIR–NGRI, Hyderabad), Prof Hani Hagras (Director of Computational Intelligence Centre, University of Essex, UK), Prof Armin Fügenschuh (Brandenburg University, Germany) and Prof K N Raghavan (Indian Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai).