Odisha Govt Forms Panel To Assess Requirements For Medical Education In Odia Language

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Thursday constituted a 22-member committee to examine the matter of providing medical education in the Odia language in the state.

The Health & Family Welfare Department in the Government Of Odisha today issued an official order naming the Chairman and members of the committee.

The committee has been tasked to identify the essential course books for MBBS education required to be translated into Odia Language, and workout timelines and budget requirements for undertaking this task.

Prof. (Dr.) Manash Ranjan Sahoo, Vice-Chancellor, of Odisha University of Health Sciences (OUHS), Bhubaneswar will head the committee.

“The Committee will assess the volume of work to be taken up for the purpose and the timeline required for getting the work done. The committee has been asked to submit their proposal to the Health & FW Department within 15 days for taking further action in the matter,” the order read.

The following are the committee members:-


  • (Dr.) Manash Ranjan Sahoo, Vice-Chancellor, OU HS, Bhubaneswar:


  • Pravash Tripathy, Additional Prof. Anatomy AllMS, Bhubaneswar
  • Archana Misra, HoD, Physiology, SCBMCH, Cuttack
  • Manaswaini Mangaraj, HoD, Biochem, AllMS BBSR.
  • Niranjan Rout, Ex Prof & HOD Pathology
  • Bharat Patel, Asst Prof Microbiology, Sundargarh Govt. MC &H, Sundergarh.
  • Pradeep Kumar Nayak, Asst Prof, FMT, Deputy Controller Examination, OUHS, BBSR.
  • Biswa Ranjan Padhy- Additional Prof. Pharmacology, AIIMS BBSR
  • Durga Satapathy, HoD, SPM, MKCG Medical College and Hospital, Barhampur
  • Pradipta Parida, HOD ENT, AIIMS, BBSR
  • Prasanna Ku Rathore, Associate Prof. of Medicine, PRM MCH, Baripada
  • Lachhman Bag Associate, Prof. Surgery, SJMCH Puri.
  • Ritanjali Behera, O&G PRMMCH, Baripada
  • Bishnu Patro, HoD, Orthopaedics, AIIMS BBSR
  • Bhagirathi Dwibedy, Prof. of Paediatrics, AIIMS BBSR.
  • Biswanath Behera, Associate Prof. Dermatology, AIIMS BBSR
  • Mihir Ranjan Nayak, Prof. of Psychiatry, SCBMCH, Cuttack
  • Ranjita Mohapatra, Prof. of Anaesthesiology, JKMCH, Jajpur.
  • Sudipta Nayak, Additional Prof. Radiology, AlIMS, BBSR
  • Rajashree Rout, Associate Prof. Ophthalmology, SLNMCH, Koraput
  • Dr Premananda Mohapatra Programme Advisor, Odia Bhasha Pratisthan, BBSR
  • Registrar, OUHS, BBSR (Member-Convenor)