One Week Training Program on DST Supported Advanced Research Instruments


Aligarh : One week training programme on “Synergistic Training Program Utilizing the Scientific and Technological Infrastructure (STUTI)” was inaugurated yesterday at the Conference Hall of the Physics Department, AMU.

Two talks were organised; the first lecture on “Accelerator-based nuclear physics research at IUAC” was delivered by Dr Subir Nath, Scientist, (IUAC) and Dr DK. Shukla, Scientist, UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore gave a lecture on the topic entitled “Synchrotron X-ray radiation-based materials characterization methods”.

The Chief Guest on the occasion Prof Avinash Chandra Pandey, the Director (Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi) highlighted the long association of AMU with IUAC, through the utilization of research facilities at IUAC by AMU faculty and research scholars. He praised the contribution of early AMU Physics faculty in the inception of IUAC and emphasized on capacity professional development and proposed to have AMU-IUAC common recruitment of faculty to continue collaborative research. He also released the brochure of the week-long programme.

Presiding over the function Pro Vice Chancellor, Prof Mohammad Gulrez ap quoted Charles Darwin in context with the adoption of change with reference to work in a collaborative manner. He also ensured to provide all possible support by the University to the department for conducting quality research.

The guest of honour, Prof Mohammad Ashraf, Dean Faculty of Science discussed the importance of training programmes in context of growth of early career researchers.

Prof BP Singh, Chairperson, Physics Department, in his welcome address highlighted the objectives of the training programme and scientific spirit for the development of technological applications. He said this training is a part of “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav” celebrations.

Afternoon session was devoted to “Hands on training activities” through familiarization of Scientific Equipment and Demonstration.

Dr M Wasi Khan introduced the STUTI initiative of DST and Dr Jai Prakash, proposed the vote of thanks.