Peking University Professor Li Yan elected Fellow of the Chinese Optical Society

Peking : At the opening ceremony of Photonics Asia 2020, the Chinese Optical Society (COS) announced the list of newly elected COS fellows and foreign members. Li Yan, professor of the School of Physics at Peking University is on the list. Li is also the president of the PKU Yangtze Delta Institute of Optoelectronics and executive deputy director of the State Key Laboratory of Artificial Microstructures and Mesoscopic Physics.


Li has long been engaged in the research of femtosecond laser 3D manufacture, light wavefront manipulation and focal field engineering, and has obtained a series of innovative research achievements. He revealed the ionization mechanism of transparent materials induced by the femtosecond laser and proposed a new method of processing the femtosecond laser, which makes high-density permanent data storage possible. He developed femtosecond laser direct writing through two-photon polymerization, which can keep the minimum characteristic scale record of two-photon polymerization, and prepared high-quality optical microcavity close to the absorption limit and photonic components with precision far beyond the optical diffraction limit. He has developed a new method of optical field control and focal field shaping, using spatial light modulator and dielectric hypersurface to control the phase, amplitude and polarization of wavefront to realize the shaping and transformation of three-dimensional focal field, which is used for high-speed femtosecond laser three‐dimensional nanofabrication and three‐dimensional dynamic color holography.

Li served as the chief scientist of the National Basic Research Program of China, the project leader of the National Key R&D Program of China, and the principal of the major project of the National Natural Science Foundation of China. In 2014, he was selected as the national outstanding science and technology worker. At the same time, Li is actively engaged in optical education and social services, serving as the executive deputy secretary-general of the COS, chairman of the National Institute of Optics Teaching and Research, member of the University Physics Teaching Guidance Committee of the Ministry of Education, etc.

In order to recognize the members’ outstanding contributions to the development of optics and optical engineering, COS established its fellow system in 2015. Candidates for fellowship are nominated by two members or by the Standing Committee. The first cohort of fellows were selected through recommendation by the Standing Committee of COS. Previously, Professor Gong Qihuang and Professor Liu Yunquan from PKU School of Physics were elected as COS fellows in 2015 and 2019 respectively.