Physics Dept Celebrates Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav


Aligarh : As a part of the Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav the Department of Physics recalled and acknowledge the contribution of science and technology to the development of Nation and society by organising an online program entitled “Contribution of Scientists to Freedom Struggle”.

Speaking as the Chief Guest Prof Ajit K Sinha (Ex Director, Inter University Consortium for DAE facilities, Indore), explained the significance of development during the freedom movement, and also the development of reactor technology, development of semiconductor technology during the period.

The Guest speaker Prof BR Behera, (Physics Department, Panjab University, Chandigarh), highlighted the history of Indian Science, Swadesh movement of India, and their relevance to Aligarh as well. He also talked about the role of various personalities who contributed to the freedom struggle through various methods.

Prof Mohammad Sajjad Athar shared his views through a power point presentation, on the occasion and discussed the role of Nehru in shaping Indian Science with the help of prominent Indian scientists like SS Bhatnagar, Meghnad Saha, PC Ray, JC Bose and many others.

Prof M Ashraf, the Dean faculty of Science, presided over the function. He spoke on the occasion remembering many leading scientists for their role in the freedom struggle. He also mentioned that we should recall these scientists for their contribution to independence.

The Chairperson, Prof BP Singh, introduced the programme and the light on various activities that were organised.

Dr Jai Prakash, the convener of the programme conducted the programme and paid vote of thanks.