Pranav Gupta elected as the Secretary General of IRRO, Dr Ashok Gupta Becomes the Chairman

New Delhi: Pranav Gupta, the newly elected member of the Executive Committee of International Publishers Association and the Managing Director of Prints Publications Pvt Ltd has been elected as the Secretary General of Indian Reprographic Rights Organization IRRO. Dr. Ashok Gupta holds the position of the Chairman for a tenure of next two years. The panel includes Dr. S.S. Awasthy as the Vice Chairman, Naveen Gupta the Treasurer and Asoke K. Ghosh continuing as the Chief Mentor and Advisor of the esteemed organization.

Speaking at this occasion, Pranav said: “If the authors and literary rights owners do not get their fair share, what will be their incentive to write better? It won’t encourage new writers. I feel elated and extremely humbled to accept this honour in an organization like IRRO. The youth need to understand how important it is curb the threat of piracy in the literary works and what are it’s consequences.”

Dr. Ashok Gupta in his statement said: “I feel honored to be selected as the Chairman of IRRO and look forward to extending my contribution in strengthening the rights of owners of literary works. For the next two years, we are going to work together to create a transparent and fair ecosystem in literature. I would like to thank everyone for their support”.

Registered by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, IRRO is committed to preventing piracy of literary work and is affiliated to IFFRO, the global organization for literary work and copyright. The society is responsible for developing an ecosystem wherein authors and publishers get their fair share by inhibiting reprography. While this approach has gained traction in industries such as software, music and movies; its implementation in the literary work has left much to be desired.

Along with this panel, other noted members from the Publishing industry were elected as Executives of the governing body.

Comments are closed.