Pratham’s Century takes AMU into Final of North Zone Cricket Tournament

Aligarh: In the first semi final played at Willingdon Pavilion, a dominant Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), reached the final of the North Zone Intervarsity tournament by defeating Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla (HPU) by convincing 96 runs. A brilliant century and haul of four wickets from the promising all-rounder Pratham paved the way for AMU victory. The day belongs to him as he became the first player of the ongoing tournament to score century.

In his knock of 124 runs, Pratham blasted HPU bowlers at will, hitting six towering sixes and elegant seventeen fours. He demonstrated his genius with the ball also and tore apart the HPU batting with dream figure of four wickets off just seven. Another contributor with the bat was Hannan, who once again played a classy inning of 54 runs off 51 balls.

Chasing a big total of 255 runs HPU batsman started with caution and gave a good start, but as soon as Pratham was introduced in the attack by AMU, their batting collapsed like a pack of cards, scoring just 159 runs in stipulated 30 over losing nine wickets. For HPU, Anil showed some resistance in his knock of 64 runs.

In the quarterfinal match played at Aligarh Sports Association Ground, Delhi University (DU) enters semi final by defeating Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (GNDU) by five wickets. Batting first GNDU batsman could not match the lethal attack of DU’s pacer Jatin, who took four wickets and restricted the opposition for only 171runs. Sumit was the highest scorer for GNDU, who remained not out on 47.

The chasing a total of 171 run in 35 over, DU batsman Arjun and Bharat played crafted innings of 58 and 56 runs respectively to consolidate easy victory in just 32 overs. Sumit of GNDU took two wickets.

At Athletics ground, Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University (HNB GU), lost their league match to Guru Govind Singh Indraprastha University (GGSIPU) by six wickets. After winning the toss and electing to bat first, HNBGU batsman struggled to score fast and could only post 113 runs on the score board due to some tight bowling by GGSIPU bowlers, especially by pacer Rohan Rawat who took three wickets conceding only 20 runs.

Chasing the total, GGSIPU batsman gave a flying start and scored the winning shot on the first ball of the seventeenth over. Shubh and Tanish were the major contributors, with elegant knock of 30 and 28 runs respectively. For HNBGU, Ankit took three wickets and Abhishek scored 31 runs.