Queen Mary University of London: Dentistry students win Gold Medal in prestigious head-to-head competition

The three candidates competed against six candidates from King’s College London in an examination led by external examiners from around the country. The students were tested on subjects including Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Dental Public Health, Orthodontics and Restorative Dentistry.

Recent Dentistry BDS graduate Dr Emma Elliott was announced as Winner of the University of London Gold Medal 2021, while Dr Jaimini Vadgama was Runner Up and winner of Betuel Prize for Dentistry, and Dr Tallulah Hall claimed third overall for the Gold Medal.

Queen Mary retains the award last won by Dr Indriyesha Wolfgang Puri in 2019.

Dentistry BDS 2021 graduate Dr Emma Elliott said: “I am beyond proud of myself for winning the Gold Medal and of the three of us who were nominated to compete. I must thank the professors who worked with us and coached us so that we could not only perform at our best but also come out of the experience as stronger, more well-rounded clinicians.

“It was rewarding, educational and challenging all at the same time and it has been a wonderful note on which to end my time at Barts.”

Dr Swati Nehete, Senior Clinical Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry, who helped organise the team’s participation in the competition, added: “These graduates worked so hard in examination preparation together, and they should be congratulated on their exceptional performance. These wonderful 2021 graduates really are flying the flag of Queen Mary high. And I would like to thank all of the University and NHS staff who supported the nominees in their preparation.”

Professor Paul Coulthard, Dean and Director of Queen Mary’s Institute of Dentistry, added: “This is a great achievement. We are so proud of these graduates and we will enjoy the honour that they have brought for all of us. We wish them all the very best in their future careers!”

The Gold Medal will be struck by the Royal Mint and engraved awarded alongside £500 prize money.