Registration of unorganized workers on e-SHRAM portal reviewed at Shopian


SHOPIAN : The Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC) Shopian, Mushtaq Ahmed Simnani today chaired a meeting to review the implementation and registration of unorganized workers on National Database for Unorganized Workers (NDUW), e-SHRAM portal in the district.

On the occasion, the ADC directed the officers of all the departments to register the daily wagers associated with their respective departments on an e-Shram portal to achieve the requisite target well on time.

He asked the concerned officers to work in proper coordination in monitoring of mobilisation of target sub-groups of unorganised workers like MGNREGA workers, SHG members under NRLM and Street vendors, Auto drivers, Agricultural labourers and Fishermen through respective line departments for registration under e-SHRAM in terms of defined targets.

Simnani said that e-SHRAM portal launched by the Government is aimed at facilitating better execution of various Social Security schemes for all unorganised workers. He said that the portal will not only register the unorganised workers of the district but also be helpful in delivering various social security schemes being implemented by the Government.

Earlier, Assistant Labour Commissioner, Abdul Majid Tantray gave a brief about the use of e-SHRAM portal. He apprised the chair that the efforts are on to register other unorganized workers too in the district to achieve the required target and added that the unorganized workers can register at the nearest CSCs or can register themselves on the portal.

The ADC stressed the officers to ensure holding of regular registration camps at the district and CSC level for the unorganised workers.

He said such awareness camps would prove helpful to disseminate Information, Education and Communication (IEC) amongst the prospective beneficiaries of e-SHRAM and their implementation through the Labour and Employment department and other official machinery.

The meeting was attended by Assistant Commissioner, Employment, Abdul Majid Tantray and District Social Welfare Officer besides Representatives from Agriculture, Horticulture and ICDS among other officers.