Rs. 563.00 crore released to six new IITs to meet their recurring and non-recurring expenditure

New Delhi: Pursuant to the Budget Announcements 2014-15 and 2015-16, six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) have been established at Palakkad (Kerela), Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Jammu (J&K), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh), Dharwad (Karnataka) and Goa. The Academic Session of IITs at Palakkad and Tirupati started in 2015-16 and that of remaining four in 2016-17 from their temporary campuses. As on date, an amount of Rs. 563.00 crore has been released to these Institutes to meet their recurring and non-recurring expenditure.

Considering the increasing demand of the country for highly skilled manpower as well as to remove regional imbalance in access to the Quality Technical Education, it is imperative that expansion of Technical Education is carried out gradually. IITs not only impart world class Science and Engineering Education but also provide an excellent ecosystem for Research in diverse disciplines. With vibrant Industry-Academia Collaborations, they develop cost effective technological solutions, which strengthen indigenous manufacturing and spur economic growth. Therefore, expansion on the Institutions has immense long-term benefits to the country.

This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Satyapal Singh today in a written reply to a Lok Sabha question.