RWTH: Professor Dirk Uwe Sauer is a new member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Science

The Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences sees itself as an association of outstanding scientists with a tradition spanning more than 300 years that transcends disciplines and borders.

Among other things, it has 80 Nobel Prize winners in its history. Sauer is accepted into the technical science class of the academy.

Sauer holds the Chair for Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage System Technology at RWTH Aachen University. He studied physics at the TU Darmstadt and did his doctorate at the University of Ulm. He has been at RWTH Aachen University since 2003, initially as a junior professor for electrochemical energy conversion and storage system technology. His chair is an integral part of the Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives (ISEA), the Institute for Power Generation and Storage Systems (PGS) and the joint Helmholtz Institute HIMS with the Jülich Research Center and the University of Münster.

He is a member of the Presidium of the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech and Chairman of the Directorate “Energy Systems of the Future” (ESYS) of the three National Science Academies Leopoldina, Union of Science Academies and acatech to advise politics and society on all aspects of the “energy transition”.

Comments are closed.