Sanhita Manch, The National Playwriting Competition


Hindi dramatic tradition is indebted to its original classic scripts and the earnest demand for a new script is a ceaseless process. Lately, theatre practitioners sensed a scarcity of new Hindi script which is primarily a manifestation of inadequate communication among playwrights, publishing house and the directors. Most likely, playwrights from every corner of this country are persistently writing but they are not able to reach the theatre directors or publishing house.

Being Association, Mumbai has taken the lead in eliminating this shortcoming and set a common platform to bridge the gap between playwrights and directors. The theatre group started Sanhita Manch to conduct a nationwide hunt for new Hindi plays in 2017 and the best three plays were staged. It achieved tremendous success in its first attempt. The responses from playwrights and directors across the nation are even more commendable in the second edition of Sanhita Manch competition, 2018. Each year, three best plays are awarded and staged which implies, Sanhita Manch has already produced six new Hindi plays in the last two years and the plays collected mass accolades across the country.

The nation-wide hunt of Hindi play has reached its consecutive third year and Sanhita Manch is being organised once again this year in large scale. All the newly written Hindi plays are invited from every corner of the country. The authors can send completely original, adapted or translated plays in Hindi.

The best three Hindi plays will be chosen by the eminent senior theatre personalities, Ms. Ratna Pathak Shah, Mr. Atul Tiwari and Mr. Ranjit Kapoor. These plays will be directed by three promising young directors of this country and will be staged in different cities of India and also each winner will get a prize money of Rs.50000/-

There is a special section for Marathi play this year. Only original Marathi scripts are allowed in the competition. The best Marathi play will be awarded and staged too. Legendary veteran thespian Mr. Satish Alekar will be in the Marathi jury committee along with distinguished theatre personalities, Mr. Jayant Pawar and Ms. Iravati Karnik.

The three awarded Hindi plays and one Marathi play will be published in a book compiled by Being Association theatre group. All the
authors and dramatists are requested to send a brand-new play which is not performed or published elsewhere, send their entries to the given postal address or email-ID of Sanhita Manch. The entry form for the competition is available on their website (