Seven NUS researchers elected as SNAS Fellows

Seven researchers from NUS have been elected Fellows of the Singapore National Academy of Science (SNAS), an organisation that has the dual remit of promoting the advancement of science and technology in Singapore, as well as representing the scientific opinions of its members.

The prominent researchers elected are: Professor Antonio Helio Castro Neto, Professor Barry Halliwell, Professor Lim Chwee Teck, Professor Liu Bin, Professor Ng Huck Hui, Professor Sow Chorng Haur and Professor Yu Hao.

SNAS President Associate Professor Lim Tit Meng said the Academy has many members who have helped shape Singapore’s scientific pursuit and achievements.

“SNAS elects Fellows who are outstanding scientists working or have worked in Singapore, recognising their good and impactful work for Singapore. They serve as role models, and are expected to advise and/or contribute to the government and other national organisations on various aspects of science including research, teaching, science policy, promotion and public communication of science,” he shared.
Professor Antonio Helio Castro Neto


Prof Antonio Helio Castro Neto is the Director of the NUS Centre for Advanced 2D Materials, Distinguished Professor in the NUS Materials Science and Engineering, as well as NUS Physics. He is also a Professor at NUS Electrical and Computer Engineering.


Prof Castro Neto is a materials scientist and condensed matter theorist who has achieved world recognition for his work in rare earths, actinides, and two-dimensional (2D) materials. He also develops transformative technologies based on 2D crystals.


In recent years, he founded 2D Materials (2DM) Pte Ltd, MADE Advanced Materials Pte Ltd, PHASE Events Pte Ltd, and Graphene Watts Pte Ltd.


Professor Barry Halliwell


Prof Barry Halliwell is Senior Advisor (Academic Appointments and Research Excellence), NUS Office of the Senior Deputy President and Provost, and Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Professor at NUS. He is also the Chairman of the Biomedical Research Council, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR).


Prof Halliwell’s research focuses on the role of free radicals and antioxidants in human disease, particularly for Alzheimer’s disease and other brain disorders. His interest in identifying the most important antioxidants in the human diet, and in developing novel antioxidants, has critical bearing on treating human diseases, and understanding how diet might cause or prevent them.


He has received numerous research awards, including the 2013 President’s Science and Technology Medal, the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Society for Free Radical Biology and Medicine in the USA, for overall sustained excellence in the field, as well as the Ken Bowman Research Award from Canada’s Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences for outstanding achievements in the field of cardiovascular research.


Professor Lim Chwee Teck


Prof Lim is the inaugural NUSS Chair Professor, and Director of the NUS Institute for Health Innovation and Technology (iHealthtech). He is also the Founding Director of the Singapore Health Technologies Consortium.


Prof Lim conducts interdisciplinary research covering areas such as mechanobiology, microfluidics and wearable technologies for biomedical applications. He is an elected Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, and Academy of Engineering, Singapore. He is also a serial entrepreneur, having cofounded six startups.


Prof Lim and his team have garnered over 100 research awards and honours including: Highly Cited Researcher, ASEAN Outstanding Engineering Achievement Award, Credit Suisse Technopreneur of the Year Award, Wall Street Journal Asian Innovation Award, President’s Technology Award, and the Prestigious Engineering Achievement Award by the Institution of Engineers Singapore.


Professor Liu Bin


Prof Liu Bin is Provost’s Chair Professor, NUS Vice President (Research and Technology), and Head of NUS Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.


She is a leader in the field of organic functional materials for energy and biomedical applications. She co-founded Luminicell, an NUS spin-off company that produces organic luminescent nanoparticles for imaging and therapy. Prof Liu Bin is the winner of the 2008 National Science and Technology Young Scientist Award, the 2016 President’s Technology Award, and the 2019 ACS Nano Lectureship Award.


Professor Ng Huck Hui


Prof Ng Huck Hui is the Assistant Chief Executive of the Biomedical Research Council, A*STAR. He is also an Adjunct Professor at NUS Biochemistry and NUS Biological Sciences.


Prof Ng is renowned in the field of gene regulation and genomics, and his research group is developing diagnostic and therapeutics modalities for brain and liver diseases.


In recognition of his scientific contributions, Prof Ng has received numerous local and international honours and awards, including the 2011 President’s Science Award (Team Award), 2018 President’s Science Award (Team Award), and The Public Administration Medal (Silver), National Day Awards 2019.


Professor Sow Chorng Haur


Prof Sow Chorng Haur is the Head of NUS Physics, and Vice Dean, Outreach and Admissions, NUS Science.


He conducts research in nanoscience and nanomaterials, and he was a recipient of Institute of Physics Singapore’s Nanotechnology Medal (Omicron Prize) and the Young Scientist Award.


Within the community of science teachers, Prof Sow is recognised for offsetting up the Science Demonstration Lab at NUS Science. As a dedicated teacher, Prof Sow has won many teaching excellence awards, and he received his Honour Roll in 2008. Prof Sow is actively involved in developing effective pedagogy in Science Communication and the Minds-on Approach to STEM education.


Professor Yu Hao


Prof Yu Hao is the Provost’s Chair Professor and Head NUS Biological Sciences.


He is known for his work in plant molecular genetics and plant biotechnology. His research integrates molecular genetic approaches with advanced life science tools, to study the fundamental mechanisms of plant reproductive development and phytohormone signaling. The ground breaking findings from his work provide essential gene resources and mechanisms for crop breeding and urban farming, which in turn will help improve food security in Singapore and around the world.


Prof Yu’s research group created the first set of genome-edited crops in Southeast Asia, and these have been distributed to over 100 labs in more than 20 countries. His team is currently developing novel and high-value plant varieties with desirable traits for the production of food, medicine, and bioenergy.