South Zone Sainik Schools Sports And Co-Curricular Championship – 2017 Closes

Bhubaneswar: The South Zone Sports and Co-curricular Championship Meet – 2017 of Southern Sainik Schools was inaugurated at Sainik School Bhubaneswar on 24 Jul 2017 and closed on 29 Jul 2017. In this meet more than 388 cadets had participated from Sainik School Amravathinagar, Tamilnadu, Sainik School Bijapur and Sainik School Kodagu from Karnatak, Sainik School Kazhakootam, Kerala, Sainik School Korukonda and Sainik School Kalikiri from Andhra Pradesh.

The main events of this meet were in Football,,Volleyball, basketball, Hockey and co-curricular activities like hindi & english debate, quiz and cultural competitions. This meet was inaugurated by Lt Gen KPD Samanta,PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd) as Chief Guest and Air Marshal J N Burma, PVSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd) graced the closing ceremony and both are the illustrious alumni of Sainik School Bhubaneswar. On the arrival of the Chief Guest, a warm welcome was extended by Capt (IN) Kanchan Mukherjee, Principal, Sainik School Bhubaneswar in the presence of Cdr N Santhosh Kumar, Administrative Officer, Cdr Sushil Kumar, Vice-Principal, Dr S D Singh, Senior Master, all staff and 600 cadets. In this meet Sainik School Korukonda, Andhra Pradesh stood overall champion in sports and co-curricular competitions however Sainik School Bijapur, Karnataka was the Runners Up. In his address the Chief Guest appreciated to all the participants for their true sportman spirit, comradeship, physical stamina and high sense of co-operation on play grounds and congratulated to the winners. This meet was co-ordinated by Mr A K Mukherjee, Sports Secretary supported by CHM Pushkar Chandra Kapri, PTI, CHM Ajit Kumar, PTI and eventually Cdr Sushil Kumar, Vice Principal proposed a Vote of Thanks.