Sunil Gangopadhyay Memorial Award conferred on Buddhadev Guha and Sanjib Chattopadhyay

Kolkata: The Sunil Gangopadhyay Memorial Award, initiated by The Bengal in 2013, was recently conferred on Buddhadev Guha and Sanjib Chattopadhyay for the years 2018 and 2019 respectively.

The prestigious Award for `Excellence in literature’ is dedicated to the late President of The Bengal, Sunil Gangopadhyay, and consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs 2 lacs sponsored by Shree Cement Ltd. The Honourable Governor of West Bengal, Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar, sent a written message to the recipients.

Due to the Covid pandemic and in a break from the past, this year the Award was handed over to the recipients at their residences by eminent film director, Goutam Ghose, Working President of The Bengal and Soumitra Mitra, Cultural Advisor to The Bengal. The award function is usually held at the Raj Bhawan.

“It is a matter of great pride and honour to be associated with this prestigious Award and recognise, appreciate and honour exemplary work in the field of literature each year in Bengal,” said H M Bangur, Chairman of The Bengal and the Managing Director of Shree Cement Ltd.

The earlier recipients of the Sunil Gangopadhyay Award include Nirendranath Chakraborty (2013), Sankha Ghosh (2014), Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay (2015), Joy Goswami (2016) and Prafulla Roy (2017).

The Bengal is a Kolkata-based not-for-profit organisation that brings together eminent citizens, thought leaders and achievers to promote various social welfare and cultural activities. The organisation, spearheaded by culturist Sundeep Bhutoria, has leading personalities from the fields of fine arts, performing arts, sports, academia and industry as its members. To name a few, Hari Mohan Bangur, Jogen Chowdhury, Goutam Ghose, Bickram Ghosh, Md. Mansoor Alam, Usha Uthup, Dona Ganguly, Nayantara Palchoudhuri, Arindam Sil, Anandi Ghose, K Jaweed Yusuf, Anniruddha Roy Chowdhury, June Malliah, Agnimitra Paul, Esha Dutta and others.

Comments are closed.