Team from Government Law College, Mumbai wins the 9th edition of the Amity International Moot Court Competition

New Delhi: The 9th edition of the Amity International Moot Court Competition organized by Amity Law School, Noida concluded today at University Campus, Sector 15 Noida with team from Government Law College, Mumbai lifting the winner’s trophy.

The aim of the competition was to integrate the academic and legal insight of the participants and simultaneously promote the development of their advocacy skills and spirit of teamwork amongst them. The Moot Problem was designed on the firmly established principles of International Criminal Law.

Welcoming the gathering, Prof. (Dr.) Shefali Raizada, Additional Director, Amity Law School Noida said this is the fifth consecutive edition of Paperless Moot, which is an endeavor to contribute to the environment. She added that the proposition of the competition was to equip participants with a panorama of unconventional and extraordinary legal issues to delve into.

Addressing the gathering, Hon’ble Justice Ms. Jyoti Singh, Delhi High Court remarked that the students who couldn’t win shouldn’t be disheartened and work with more determination. She emphasized upon the importance of education which empowers us for life and advised the budding legal professionals to always be gratitude towards God, their parents and teachers who encourage and motivate them throughout the personal and professional journey. Justice Singh further averred that students must always be prepared to face the challenges as testing times will take them forward.

Hon’ble Mr. Justice Talwant Singh, Delhi High Court apprised that today’s youth are born at lucky time wherein they are getting the exposure to learn from the senior colleagues and doyens of the profession. He added that winning or losing is immaterial and the major take away from participation in competitions are learnings and honing the skills.

During the valedictory, awards, cash prizes and certificates were conferred upon the following teams under various categories:

Best Team: Government Law College, Mumbai

Runner-up Team: Symbiosis Law School Noida

Best Memorial: Symbiosis Law School, Noida

Best Speaker: Aditi Richa Tiwary, Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur

Best Researcher: Tanaiy Tewari, Christ University Banglaore

The competition had witnessed the participation of around 24 teams from various law schools across India including Vivekananda Institute of Studies, Delhi; Bennett University, Greater Noida; The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi; Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar; Shankar Rao Chavan Law College,Pune and Rajiv Gandhi National University Of Law,Patiala,Punjab amongst others.