TERI School of Advanced Studies’ Twelfth Convocation Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Padma Vibhushan awardee and former ISRO Chairman, to be conferred with Honorary Doctorate

New Delhi: The twelfth annual convocation of TERI School of Advanced Studies will be held on 14th November at the university’s green campus in Vasant Kunj, New Delhi. Dr Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan, former Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation will be the Chief Guest on the occasion and will also be conferred with an Honorary Doctorate.

A total of 12 doctoral degrees and 226 master’s degrees will be awarded at the convocation.

Looking forward to the ceremony, Prof Manipadma Datta, Vice-Chancellor, TERI SAS said, “TERI SAS graduates and doctorates are the ambassadors of sustainable development to say the least. Over the years on, the University is playing a suitable role in capacity building to make this planet safer for mankind.”

The genesis of TERI SAS is rooted in the comprehensive research, consultancy, and outreach activities of TERI. The relationship with TERI has propelled and influenced the evolution of the University’s academic units. In 1999, the University was granted “Deemed to be University” status by the University Grants Commission and notified by the Ministry of Human Resources Development, Department of Education, Government of India. Earlier Known as ‘TERI University’, the institution changed its name to ‘TERI School of Advanced Studies’ with effect from 29 Nov 2017.

With a mission to create knowledge and capacity in various areas of sustainable development, the TERI SAS exposes its students to a variety of subjects, tools and methodologies in an interdisciplinary mode. Accredited with the National Assessment and Accreditation Council of India (NAAC), the University has received accolades for incorporating new and innovative elements in education. All technical programmes of the University are approved by the AICTE. About 174 students are currently enrolled in the doctoral programmes, 469 in the various master’s programmes.

In keeping with its global outlook, the TERI SAS has academic collaborations with select foreign universities, which provide for joint research and curriculum development as well as faculty and student exchanges. The University attracts students from all over the country and a fair number of international students.

At present, TERI SAS offers the following programmes:
• Ph D
• M Sc (Environmental Studies and Resource Management)
• M Sc (Geoinformatics)
• M Sc (Climate Science and Policy)
• M Sc (Plant Biotechnology)
• M Sc (Economics)
• M Sc (Water Science and Governance)
• MA (Public Policy & Sustainable Development)
• MA (Sustainable Development Practice)
• MBA (Infrastructure)
• MBA (Business Sustainability)
• M Tech (Renewable Energy Engineering and Management)
• M Tech (Urban Development and Management)
• M Tech (Water Resource Engineering and Management)
• LLM (Environment & Natural Resources Law/ Infrastructure & Business Law)

The doctoral programmes and research centre around seven basic themes: Bioresources & Biotechnology, Business sustainability, Energy and Environment, Natural Resources Management, Policy Studies, Water Science & Governance and Legal Studies.