Texas A&M: Nineteen Current And Former Students Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Nineteen current or former Texas A&M University students have been named National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) award recipients for 2022. Winners with ties to Texas A&M include nine current graduate students and one current undergraduate. The remaining nine students earned bachelor’s degrees at Texas A&M and are currently in graduate programs at other institutions.

The NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines. Undergraduate seniors and graduate students in the first year of their graduate programs are eligible to apply.

The five-year fellowship provides three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a $12,000 cost of education allowance.

NSF graduate research fellows are anticipated to graduate as experts in their fields and contribute meaningfully to research, teaching, and innovation in ways that advance our nation’s technological infrastructure and national security, as well as the economic well-being of society at large.

This year’s awardees are:

Leeanne Nicole Blind-Doskocil, Meteorology
Antonio Cordova, Biochemistry
Madison Elaine Edwards, Chemistry
Alyssa Felix Thayne, Chemistry (undergraduate)
Kristel Forlano, Materials Science and Engineering
Dylan Halbeisen, Chemical Oceanography
Urvi Kaul, Biological Anthropology
Devon Lee Kulhanek, Chemical Engineering
Annais Belinda Muschett-Bonilla, Marine Biology
Mia Rayne Kreitlow, Psychology
Christian Landry, Mechanical Engineering
Brendan Lyle Murphy, Chemistry
Anna Louise Pritchard, Engineering
Krista Grace Schoonover, Chemistry
Nicholas Charles Starvaggi, Chemistry
Grayson Avery Tung, Entomology
Brent Vela, Materials Science and Engineering
Brandon Michael Woo, Entomology
Danielle Frances Yarbrough, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Founded in 1951, the NSF GRFP is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, each year awarding approximately 2,000 students from around 13,000 applicants.