The School of Legal Studies in CMR University organized VIII National Moot Court Competition

 Bengaluru: The School of Legal Studies at CMR University in Bengaluru, organized its flagship event – The 8th National Moot Court Competition 2022, in which 20 colleges with around 60 students participated from across the country on Sunday, 22nd May. The National Moot Court Competition was virtually inaugurated by Hon’ble Justice Mrs B.V Nagaratha, Judge – Supreme Court of India as the Chief Guest. Shri K. C Ramamurthy, IPS ( Retd) , Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha and Chairman CMR group of Institutions presided over the function.

The CMR National Moot Court Competition aims at facilitating the development of skills of interpretation and legal reasoning among the participating students, with a focus of encouraging them in achieving greater heights in future.

In his presidential address Shri. K.C. Ramamurthy, said, “we are happy and honored to conduct a national moot court competition for the budding lawyers of our country, through which we strive to attract and facilitate the foray of enterprising, smart and intelligent young individuals into the legal profession. This moot, as any other, expects to present important questions of law that are challenging yet accessible and inviting, and enable participation to present the best of themselves as aspiring practitioners of law and as individuals with integrity, wisdom and eloquence”.

The moot proposition in this competition revolved around the acquisition of an economically challenged person raising concerns against Credit Information Company due to the depriving nature of the term ‘Credit Worthiness’ and the subsuming issue of ‘Privacy’, questioning the inadequate application of the precedents on ‘right to privacy’ on the legislation governing Credit Data Corporation of India (CICs); the inherent flaw in the CICs data analytics model; cost of Credit Reports;and the exploitation of Personal Information by CICs and so on.

Satheesh P, Mukesh M & Mohanapriya M from Dr Ambedkar Government Law College, Chennai and T.Karthi, Vishva Shanmugham & Lithika Shivani M from Sastra Deemed to be University were declared as the winning Team and Runners – up team during the valedictory ceremony. Meanwhile, students from Symbiosis Law college Pune and Singhad Law College, Pune received prizes in the category Best researcher and Best Memorial.

The grand finale of the Moot Court competition was presided by a bench of current and former judges from the High Court of Karnataka. Hon’ble Mr. Justice Shivashankar Amarannavar, Judge, High Court of Karnataka, Hon’ble Mr. Justice P. N. Desai, Judge, High Court of Karnataka, Hon’ble Shri. Justice A.V. Chandrashekhara, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka and Hon’ble Shri. Justice B.A. Patil, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka, judged the finals and also graced the Valedictory function as Guests of Honor.

Moot court competition is a replica of the real court proceeding. And the purpose of these competitions is to make law students aware of the court proceedings related to disputes between two parties that are Defendants and Respondents. The mooting presents a hypothetical case and both teams are required to research it and represent their arguments.


Comments are closed.