Third edition of ShortsTV Best of India Short Film Festival all set to air on 6th & 7th November; receives overwhelming response with 2000+ entries

Mumbai: ShortsTV, the world’s first 24/7 channel dedicated to short films, announces the top 10 semi-finalists from over 2000+ entries received this year. The selected films convey creative stories, bringing to light current societal issues and star some of Bollywood’s most popular talent including Vidya Balan starrer Natkhat, Sound-Proof starring Soha Ali Khan & Vinay Pathak, Oysters featuring Radhika Apte, among others.


The top 10 short films will be exclusively aired on ShortsTV on 6th and 7th November, 7 PM onwards. Out of these, the top 5 films will win a theatrical release in Hollywood which qualifies them for Oscar® consideration. The winning film will also receive prize worth $2,500 and eligibility for a television broadcast deal on ShortsTV.


Launched in 2018, the Best of India Short Film Festival aims to elevate the most creative short film makers in India, giving them a platform to showcase their work and opening up new opportunities, including Oscar® consideration.


Commenting on the announcement, Carter Pilcher, Chief Executive, ShortsTV said, “India’s filmmakers are astounding – and set new boundaries every year. We at ShortsTV are thrilled that we can bring such great films “discovered” through the Best of India Short Film Festival to global audiences and to the attention of the most prestigious awards bodies, including Oscar® consideration for the winners. Short filmmaking in India is hot, hot, hot – and this year’s finalists show India’s biggest stars are using them to explore new roles and tell amazing stories.”


The 10 semi-finalists are:


Natkhat | Directed by Shaan Vyas starring Vidya Balan, Raj Arjun, Patel Aruraj,
Sound-Proof | Directed by Aditya Kelgaonkar starring Soha Ali Khan, Vinay Pathak, Uday Chandra
Oysters | Directed by Pratyusha Gupta starring Radhika Apte, Ashraf Ejjbair
Safar | Directed by Pratyusha Gupta starring Shweta Tripathi, Mahabanoo Mody-Kotwal, Vipin Sharma
Shameless | Directed by Keith Gomes starring Sayani Gupta, Hussain Dalal, Rishab Kapoor
Trapped | Directed by Dheeraj Jindal starring Abhishek Banerjee, Abhilasha Paul & Jaspal Sharma
Wolf of Chawl Street | Directed by Pranav Bhasin starring Arnav Bhasin, Sarita Patankar
The Booth | Directed by Rohin Raveendran starring Amruta Subhash, Parna Pethe
Prakata Het Yaad | Directed by Milind Dhaimade starring Sheeba Chaddha, Paresh Mohiniani, Rituraj Singh
Khayali Pulao | Directed by Tarun Dudeja starring Prince Bajaj, Ravi Chellaramani, Sunil Chitkara

Key dates:

6th & 7th November: Top 10 short films to be aired exclusively on ShortsTV
7th November: Winners to be announced on ShortsTV