Tohoku University: Familiar Names from Tohoku University Among the IVA’s New International Fellows

Tohoku University President Hideo Ohno, and Professor Emeritus at the Graduate School of Engineering Yuko Harayama, have been inducted into the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) as new International Fellows.

The IVA announced in late December 2021 that it had added 41 new Fellows to further strengthen and broaden its pool of expertise. The new Fellows represent 12 divisions within the fields of engineering and economics, and include Spotify’s Chief Research & Development Officer, Gustav Söderström; MIT professor Max Tegmark and President and CEO of Epiroc, Helena Hedblom. Of the 41 new inductees, seven are International Fellows.

“The newly elected Fellows are prominent researchers, experts and decision-makers from academia and the private and public sectors,” said Tuula Teeri, President of IVA, in a statement. “The collective experience and expertise of the new Fellows will be a fantastic asset for us and for our mission to improve society.”

The Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) has been building bridges between the business community, academia and policy makers for more than 100 years. It brings together the expertise and experience of about 1.300 Academy Fellows and 250 member companies.

New Fellows, selected by the Assembly of the Academy, are inducted once a year. There are currently 271 International Fellows.