Trinity College Dublin: The new cohort of Fellows and Scholars has been announced today, on Trinity Monday.

Staff, students, friends and families are unable to celebrate on campus this year due to COVID-19 restrictions and yet all are united in their appreciation for the exceptional achievements of the students and academics who have been elected Scholars and Fellows.

Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast stood, in line with tradition, on the steps of the Examination Hall in Front Square to read out the names of the Scholars and Fellows.

Dr Patrick Prendergast said:

“I would like to congratulate all of the students and academics who have been named Scholars and Fellows this year, we are extremely proud of their hard work and impressive achievements. Unfortunately, the prevailing circumstances mean that they cannot be here in person, but rest assured, the entire college community are standing with them side by side in spirit on this important day.”

In total, 73 new Scholars, 13 new Fellows, eight new Professorial Fellows and four Honorary Fellows were announced (see details below) across a range of disciplines.

Fellowships are awarded to those showing excellence in research and scholarship and to acknowledge a professor’s contribution to academic life and teaching in the College.

Becoming a Trinity Scholar is a major achievement for which second year students must perform exceptionally well in exams held in January, showing deep knowledge of their subjects. The students continue with their usual course work as well as studying independently for these exams.

This year’s Scholars come from a range of disciplines, from Midwifery to Music, Dental Science, Law, Engineering and many more.

Additionally, four Honorary Fellows were announced as follows:

Maureen Harding Clark who was the Judicial Visitor for Trinity for almost 12 years currently serves as a judge on the Appeals Chamber of the Extraordinary Chambers of the Courts of Cambodia. This hybrid tribunal has tried the surviving members of the Khmer Rouge leadership and will probably be the last appeal heard. Prior to that she was a judge of the High Court and has served as a judge on the ICTY and the International Criminal Court at The Hague.
Harry Clifton is a celebrated writer who has taught at Bremen and Bordeaux universities as well as atUniversity College Dublin, from which he received an Honorary D.Litt in 2011, and Trinity College Dublin where he is currently Adjunct Professor of Creative Practice.
Heather Hancock’s career has spanned senior roles in business and the public sector. She became Master of St John’s College, Cambridge in October 2020 and has held CEO roles in a special local authority, a major quango, and was a member of the senior civil service. Heather was also a Deputy Chair of the World Athletics Championships and Paralympic Athletics Championships from 2013-2016.
Luke Drury is Emeritus Professor of Astrophysics in the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies and was Honorary Andrews’ Professor of Astronomy in TCD from 1998 to 2018. He is best known for work on particle acceleration in astrophysical plasmas and the origin of cosmic rays and was instrumental in establishing the Irish Centre for High-End Computing.

The list of Fellows and Scholars is as follows:


Mary Cosgrove School of Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies
Jean Fletcher School of Medicine
Catherine Hayes School of Medicine
David Hoey School of Engineering
Nicholas Johnson School of Creative Arts
David Kenny School of Law
Tríona Lally School of Engineering
Deirdre Madden School of English
Kenneth Pearce School of Social Sciences and Philosophy
Jeremy Piggott School of Natural Sciences
Adriele Prina Mello School of Medicine
Mary Rogan School of Law
Lina Zgaga School of Medicine
Professorial Fellows

Professor Aileen Kavanagh
Professor of Constitutional Governance (2018)
Professor Iris Moeller
Professor of Geography (1966) and Head of Geography (2020-23)
Professor Ortwin Hess
Professor of Quantum Nanophotonics (2019)
Professor Omar Garcia
Professor of Spanish (1926)
Professor Stephen David Thomas
Edward Kennedy Professor of Health Policy and Management (2002) and Head of the Centre of Health Policy and Management
Professor Colin Doherty
Ellen Mayston Bates Professor of Epileptology (2016)
Professor Gerald Dickens
Professor of Geology and Mineralogy (1843)
Professor Stephen Spence
Professor of Mechanical Engineering (1980)

O’Connor Gollogley Grace Bachelor in Global Business
Alwell Corey Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Gallego Martínez Saúl Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Henry Órlaith Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Rowe Matthew Chemical Sciences
Conlan Katie Children’s and General Nursing
Stanley Nicola Children’s and General Nursing
Creedon Ian Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology
Alarco Cantos Samuel Computer Science
Petrukhin Pavel Computer Science
Aljohmani Ronan Dental Science
Nasrallah Sandra Dental Science
Suresh Peter Dental Science
Tellechea Miren Dental Science
Holmes Lucy Drama and Theatre Studies
Welt Morghan Drama and Theatre Studies
Hennessy Nicole Economic and Social Studies
Johnson Caoimhe Economic and Social Studies
O’Brien Conor Economic and Social Studies
Toomey Oscar Engineering
Woodcock Anna Engineering
Fletcher Alfred English Studies
Bukowski Filip Geography and Geoscience
Morrison Anna Geography and Geoscience
Hutchinson Ethan History
Vanden Borre Félix History and Political Science
Clenaghan Deirbhile Law
Donnelly Cormac Law
Dorrian Rhianna Law
Gannon Ben Law
Heeran Sean Law
O’Reilly Ciara Law
Brazil Jane Law and Business
Ntemuse Emmanuel Law and Business
Ryan Michael Law and Business
Lu Shuyao Law and French
Carton Muireann Law and Political Science
Gallagher Hugh Law and Political Science
Fitzgerald Seán Mathematics
Hamilton Luke Mathematics
Choo Jing Xian Medicine
Coalter Sophie Medicine
Doyle Emily Medicine
Hollingsworth Simon Medicine
Kavanagh Columb Medicine
Kelly Aidan Medicine
Kyle Eimear Medicine
McLoughlin Mary Medicine
Prendergast James Medicine
Shi Yun Liz Medicine
Adebayo Bolanle Midwifery
Hackett Lucy Midwifery
Kiernan Robyn Midwifery
Boylan David Music
Ogbebor Esther Nursing
Dabrowska Zofia Occupational Therapy
Cardot Océane Pharmacy
Fleming Andrew Pharmacy
Maher Nicola Pharmacy
Friel Claudia Philosophy
MacLeod Iain Philosophy
Hyland Kate Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
Maher Conor Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
McGill Ella Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
McGrath Finn Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and Sociology
Keller Aisling Physiotherapy
Roberts Ella Physiotherapy
Carroll Erika Psychology
McEvoy Roantree Laura Psychology
Crimmins Aoibh Trinity Joint Honours
MacHale Peggy Trinity Joint Honours
McGregor Maisie Trinity Joint Honours
O’Leary Seán Trinity Joint Honours

Comments are closed.