Twenty States and two Union Territories have prepared their own Biotechnology policy

Government supports Research Institutes, Central & State Agriculture Universities for competitive R&D and demonstration activities in Agriculture Biotechnology including organic farming. The Biotech-Krishi Innovation Science Application Network (Biotech-KISAN) programme also focuses on taking innovative technologies to the farmers. The activity has been supported across the country including Aspirational Districts. During the last three years, approximately Rs. 310 crores has been invested for supporting the use of Biotechnology in agriculture including organic farming through these programmes.

Twenty States and two Union Territories have prepared their own Biotechnology policy.   (Details are provided in Annexure I.)

Government through Department of Biotechnology (DBT) has implemented integrated Human Resource Development Program in Biotechnology to provide Biotechnology trained personnel in various fields including agriculture. Some of the major programmes include Postgraduate Teaching Program, DBT-Junior Research Fellowship Program, DBT- Research Associate ship and DBT-Biotechnology industry Training Program (Apprenticeship) Program for skilled and trained manpower etc. These programmes are supported across the country.


The details of States/UTs having Biotechnology policy are as follows:

S. No. Name of the State/UT Biotechnology Policy/Programme
Andhra Pradesh Biotechnology Policy 2015-2020
Assam Biotechnology Policy 2018-2022
Bihar Biotechnology Policy
Chandigarh Biotechnology Policy Chandigarh
Chhattisgarh Biotechnology Policy Chhattisgarh
Goa Biotechnology Policy 2009
Gujarat Biotechnology Policy 2016-2021
Haryana Biotechnology Policy Haryana 2002
Himachal Pradesh Biotechnology Policy 2014
Jammu and Kashmir Biotechnology Policy 2010
Jharkhand Jharkhand  Information Technology/Biotechnology Policy 2012
Karnataka Biotechnology Policy 2017-2022
Madhya Pradesh Biotechnology Policy 2003
Maharashtra Biotechnology Policy 2001
Odisha Biotechnology Policy 2018
Punjab Punjab Biotechnology Programmes
Rajasthan Biotechnology Policy 2015
Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Biotechnology Policy 2014
Telangana Biotechnology Policy 2015-2020
Uttar Pradesh Biotech Policy of UP 2014
Uttarakhand Biotechnology Policy 2018-2023
West Bengal Biotechnology Policy 2013

This information was given by the Union Minister of Science and Technology, Earth Sciences and Health and Family Welfare, Dr Harsh Vardhan in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.

Comments are closed.