Udhampur DDC members elect Chairperson, Vice Chairperson

Udhampur: The members of District Development Council (DDC) Udhampur today elected Chairperson and the vice chairperson of the District Council here at a meeting chaired by the District Panchayat Election Officer Dr Piyush Singla.

At the outset, Additional District Development Commissioner, Ashok Kumar gave brief about the election procedure. The election process commenced with the filing of nomination for chairperson and vice chairperson by the DDC members.

After scrutiny of the nomination paper, Lal Chand -the DDC member from Udhampur –II constituency was declared elected unopposed for the post of chairperson, while Juhi Manhas – DDC member 5- Khoon Constituency was declared Vice Chairperson by District Election Officer Udhampur.

While speaking on the occasion, the DPEO congratulated the newly elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of District Udhampur. He hoped that with the establishment of three tier Panchayat Raj Institution, the developmental process at grassroots level will get further boost..

The DPEO also complimented the people of the District Udhampur for their whole hearted participation in the DDC elections. He added that Government has empowered Panchayats through devolution of funds, functions and functionaries.

Among others present were Assistant Commissioner Revenue, Viqar Giri; Deputy District Election Officer, Dr Shavi; Tehsildar Udhampur, Amit Verma, and other Officers/Officials of concerned department were present on the occasion.


Comments are closed.