UNESCO and Foundation L’Oréal recognize 20 young women scientists in Sub-Saharan Africa

The names of the 20 Young Talents of the 11th edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Sahara Africa Programme were revealed this week. This joint initiative, launched in 2010, rewards each year twenty women scientists for the excellence of their work, and supports them to pursue their research through grants of €10,000 for PhD students and €15,000 for post-doctorates.  Only 2.4% of the world’s researchers are African scientists, 31% of whom are women.

The 2020 Young Talents come from 16 countries and embody all of the potential of African science through their backgrounds and research subjects.  For the first time this year, young women scientists from Congo and Malawi have been rewarded.

The jury of the 2020 Sub-Sahara Africa Programme, chaired by Professor Nelson Torto, Executive Director of the African Academy of Sciences, selected the 20 Young Talents from nearly 330 applications. The 2020 Sub-Saharan Africa Young Talents will join the community of 3,400 women researchers around the world, who have been supported by the For Women in Science Programme since its creation in 1998.

2020 Sub-Saharan Africa Young Talents:


Faouziath SANOUSSI
Post-doctorate, Agricultural Sciences
Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, University of Abomey-Calavi (Benin)

PhD student, Biological Sciences
ARC-Onderstepoort Veterinary Institute, University of Pretoria (South Africa)

PhD student, Computer and Information Science
Computational Biology, University of Cape Town (South Africa)

Agnès Antoinette NTOUMBA
PhD student, Biological Sciences
Laboratory of Animal Biology and Physiology, University of Douala (Cameroon)

Younoussa HAIFAOU
PhD student, Medicine
Laboratory of the National Blood Transfusion Center, Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar (Senegal)

Dominique Fatima
Post-doctorate, Health Sciences

Nadège TATY
PhD student, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Governance, Risk, Environment and Development Laboratory (GRED), University Paul Valéry Montpellier 3 (France), Research and Training Unit on the Ecology and Control of Infectious Diseases (URF-ECMI), University of Kinshasa (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

Martha Kidemu NEGASSA
PhD student, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Haramaya Soil Laboratory, University of Haramaya (Ethiopia)

PhD student, Biological Sciences
Antimicrobial Research Unit, University of KwaZulu Natal, Durban (South Africa)

PhD student, Biological Sciences
Medical Entomology Unit, Institut Pasteur in Madagascar, Antananarivo (Madagascar)

Post-doctorate, Physics
Division of Sciences, South African Astronomical Observatory (SAAO), Cape Town (South Africa)

Halima TWABI
PhD student, Mathematics
Laboratory of Mathematics, University of Malawi (Malawi)

Post-doctorate, Basic Medicine
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Mauritius, Moka (Mauritius)

Post-doctorate, Biological Sciences
Food Science and Technology Laboratory, Bowen University, Iwo (Nigeria)

Ibukunoluwa Adetutu OLAJIDE
PhD student, Electrical Engineering, Information Engineering
Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Federal University of Technology,
Akure (Nigeria)

PhD student, Health Sciences
Rwanda Biomedical Centre, Kigali (Rwanda), University of Cape Town (South Africa)

Doaa ALI
PhD student, Chemistry
Laboratory of medicinal chemistry, University of Cape Town (South Africa)

PhD student, Biological Sciences
Joint programme of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Khartoum (Sudan)
and Brain and Spine Institute (ICM), Sorbonne University (France)

PhD student, Information and Communication Sciences and Engineering
CoCSE Laboratory, The Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology, Arusha (Tanzania)

Hannah SIMBA
PhD student, Health Sciences
Division of Community Health, Stellenbosch University (South Africa)

Comments are closed.