UNESCO’s IOC Executive Secretary awarded for outstanding contributions to marine science and technology

Announcing its 2020 Awards, the U.S.-based Marine Technological Society presented the Compass International Award for outstanding contributions to the advancement of marine sciences and technology to Dr Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission.

The Marine Technology Society (MTS) announced its 2020 Award Winners through a press release on 18 August 2020, to be followed by a presentation of the awards on 8 October at the virtual conference Global OCEANS 2020: Singapore-U.S. Gulf Coast (5-30 October 2020).

As recipient of the MTS 2020 Compass International Award, Dr. Vladimir Ryabinin (Executive Secretary of the UNESCO-IOC since 2015) has been recognized for his leadership in the design of international initiatives such as the Global Ocean Observing System and the Joint Technical Commission of the World Meteorological Organization and IOC for Oceanography and Marine Meteorology (JCOMM), but also for his embracing the importance of including professional societies like MTS within the international processes of ocean science governance.

In announcing the award, MTS highlighted his role as a champion for inclusivity in the “planning team for the United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development that includes MTS as a partner and a strong advocate for the Seabed 2030 global effort.”

“Our awardees work with unfailing commitment to tackle problems that impact our globally connected society in real and tangible ways that many people aren’t fully aware of,” completed the press release.

The 2020 MTS Awards also recognized Capt (Ret.) Craig McLean, Acting Chief Scientist and Assistant Administrator for Oceanic and Atmospheric Research at the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Capt McLean has been actively involved in the governance of UNESCO’s IOC as long-time U.S. representative to the Commission, and since 2018, Member of the Executive Planning Group advising the IOC Secretariat on the design of the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development (2021-2030).

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.