University of Amsterdam: Ruud Koornstra appointed Honorary Fellow at the Faculty of Science

The title of ‘Honorary Fellow’ is bestowed by the Faculty of Science (FNWI) to recognise individuals who excel in a particular area relevant to faculty research. Such appointments offer FNWI staff the opportunity to strengthen ties with society and to carry out joint research projects. Koornstra has been appointed for one day a week and a period of three years, during which time he will be affiliated with the Van ‘t Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences. There he will work together with Dr Chris Slootweg, a researcher and entrepreneur in the field of circular chemistry, and Bob van der Zwaan, professor by special appointment of Sustainable Energy Technology and coordinator of the recently established UvA research focus area ‘Energy transition through the lens of Sustainable Developments Goals’ (ENLENS).

Koornstra will provide strategic advice to both the institute and faculty on research and education in relation to the energy transition. He will also be involved in driving valorisation activities, in particular of the new, disruptive technologies being developed within the faculty, the Demonstrator Lab Science Park, and ENLENS. In addition, he will contribute to the realisation of public-private projects in research and education regarding the energy transition. A major focus will be on innovation and valorisation in the production and storage of hydrogen. This is essential for the transition to a sustainable energy system and for realising the European ambition of being climate neutral by 2050.

Comments are closed.