University of Cambridge: Cambridge researchers recognised by 2022 Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowships

The new Fellows have been recognised for their remarkable contributions to biomedical and health science and their ability to generate new knowledge and improve the health of people everywhere.

The new Cambridge Fellows are:

Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore, Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience, University of Cambridge
Professor Andres Floto, Professor of Respiratory Biology, University of Cambridge
Professor Fiona Gilbert, Head of the Department of Radiology, University of Cambridge
Dr John Marioni, Senior Group Leader at the CRUK Cambridge Institute, University of Cambridge
Professor Susan Ozanne, Professor of Developmental Endocrinology, University of Cambridge
Professor Miles Parkes, Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge
Professor Anna Philpott, Head of the School of Biological Sciences, University of Cambridge
Professor David Savage, Professor of Molecular Metabolism, University of Cambridge
In addition, two researchers from the wider community have also been elected:

Dr Sjors Scheres FRS, Joint Head of Division and Programme Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Professor Nicholas Thomson, Group Leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute
Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “It gives me great pleasure to welcome these 60 experts to the Fellowship to help to address the major health challenges facing society.

“Each of the new Fellows has made important contributions to the health of our society, with a breadth of expertise ranging from the physical and mental health of young people to parasitic diseases and computational biology.

“The diversity of biomedical and health expertise within our Fellowship is a formidable asset that in the past year has informed our work on critical issues such as tackling the COVID-19 pandemic, understanding the health impacts of climate change, addressing health inequalities, and making the case for funding science. The new Fellows of 2022 will be critical to helping us deliver our ambitious 10-year strategy that we will launch later this year.”

Comments are closed.