University of Florida: Three UF faculty elected to Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida

Three University of Florida faculty will be inducted to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida in 2022.

The academy, which recognizes the work of individuals of the State of Florida who have made major achievements in science, engineering and medicine, will present awards to the following faculty during its annual meeting on November 5-6 in Orlando.

Chimay Anumba, Ph.D., dean of the College of Design, Construction and Planning: elected for his research contributions to construction engineering and informatics as well as his development of next generation industry leaders.

Dr. Desmond Schatz, M.D., interim chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the College of Medicine: elected for his work identifying patients at-risk for Type 1 diabetes and the factors that occur before onset as well as his work to develop therapies to prevent and delay diabetes.

Almut Winterstein, Ph.D., professor and chair for the Department of Pharmaceutical outcomes and Policy in the College of Pharmacy: elected for uncovering real-world drug safety problems and guiding clinical and regulatory decisions on the safe and effective use of medications.

“This recognition by the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida is a reflection of the stature and impact of the research and scholarship efforts of our faculty here at the University of Florida,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research.