University of Nottingham: Exceptional contributors to the pharmacy profession recognised as Honorary Professors by the University of Nottingham

The University of Nottingham’s School of Pharmacy has appointed two renowned industry professionals as Honorary Professors.

Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope has been appointed as Honorary Chair and Professor of Pharmaceutical Public Health, and Mr David Reissner as Honorary Chair and Professor of Pharmacy and Medicines Law.

Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope

Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope is Lead Pharmacist for HCAI, Fungal, AMR, AMU & Sepsis Division at the United Kingdom Health Security Agency (UKHSA).

Diane joined the Health Protection Agency part-time in 2010 and has continued through the transitions to Public Health England and now UK Health Security Agency. Over the years, she has taken on additional roles within the NHS, Centre for Postgraduate Pharmacy Education, Health Education England, and the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association.

At UKHSA, Diane chairs the English Surveillance Programme for Antimicrobial Utilisation Resistance (ESPAUR)and leads on developing and evaluating national antimicrobial stewardship interventions to tackle AMR. She is co-lead for the HCAI and AMR division’s health equity programme of work, and is leading a UK-wide evidence review on Pharmaceutical Public Health, commissioned by the four UK Chief Pharmaceutical Officers.

Over the years, Diane has led on several projects that have shaped national and international policy in tackling antimicrobial resistance. This includes – creating the global Antibiotic Guardian campaign in 2014; as a member of the WHO team that developed and published the WHO policy guidance on integrated antimicrobial stewardship activities in 2021 and as an Adviser then Global AMR Lead for the Commonwealth Pharmacists Association from 2016 until March 2022

Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope
So far more than 170,000 people worldwide have pledged through the Antibiotic Guardian campaign to make better use of antibiotics and help save these vital medicines from becoming obsolete

Diane has remained research active since completing her PhD in 2009, successfully leading or significantly contributing to more than 70 peer-review publications as well as several blogs, newspaper articles and editorials. She is currently one of the editors for BMC Public Health journal. In 2022, she was credited as a consultant pharmacist through the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s national credentialing and assessment processes.

She has been recognised nationally including through awards, nominations to deliver two TEDx talks and fellowships with the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (FRPharmS and FFRPS).

Diane said: “I am delighted and honoured to be joining the outstanding School of Pharmacy at the University of Nottingham as Honorary Chair and Professor of Pharmaceutical Public Health. I am particularly looking forward to contributing to Nottingham’s excellent teaching and research programme and inspiring future pharmacists.”

Mr David Reissner

Mr David Reissner is a recently retired solicitor, most recently as Partner and Head of Healthcare at Charles Russell Speechlys LLP and as current Chair of the Pharmacy Law and Ethics Association (PLEA).

David has a long history of excellence in the pharmacy profession and would be classed by many in the profession as the UK’s leading solicitor in the field of pharmacy and medicines law, with a specialism in pharmacy contract law and regulatory fitness to practise.

The team that David led at Charles Russell specialised in acting for pharmacists facing fitness to practise proceedings (before the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain and then, more recently, the General Pharmaceutical Council), NHS market entry applications in England and Wales, criminal investigations of pharmacists and pharmacy owners and providing general regulatory and compliance advice.

Over the years, David worked for the largest multiples down to single branch pharmacy owners as well as pharmacy representative bodies, using his wealth of experience and knowledge to seek the best possible outcome for clients, often in the most difficult and stressful of times for them. He was widely known and respected in the community pharmacy sector and relied upon to provide clear and concise advice in relation to often complex legal and regulatory issues.

David continues his work as a District Judge.

David is co-editor for the UKs leading text on Pharmacy Law (Dale and Appelbe, 12th Edition) used by all schools of pharmacy in the UK and was a significant contributor to editions prior. David is a regular contributor to the profession and has authored over 250 articles over his career keeping the profession up to date on matters of regulation.

David said “”I am delighted and honoured to receive this appointment from the University of Nottingham. I am looking forward to working with a leading School of Pharmacy which has such a distinguished history.”

Professor Matthew Boyd, Professor of Medicines Safety and Head of the Division of Pharmacy Practice and Policy said: “We are delighted to be welcoming both Diane and David into the Schools’ honorary professoriate. Their diverse backgrounds and contributions highlight the multi-disciplinarity of the profession of pharmacy. Our honorary appointments are rare and conferred only to those who represent distinction and demonstrate excellence to inspire and encourage our students to be the world leading professionals of the future.”