University of Reading: University Of Reading Wins Queen’s Anniversary Prize

The University of Reading’s work on climate change has been honoured with a Queen’s Anniversary Prize.

The award, announced at St James’s Palace on Thursday evening, is the highest national honour for a UK institution in higher and further education.

Reading’s nomination highlighted the University’s world-leading research, teaching, stewardship and outreach work on climate change.

The University’s nomination to the awards committee was titled ‘Tackling the Impacts of Climate Change – From Global to Local’. It focused on one of the largest groups of researchers and doctoral students in the UK undertaking science of climate impact and adaptation. The group includes meteorologists, climate scientists, hydrologists, ecologists, soil scientists and ‘big data’ specialists – who use the breadth and quality of science to address one of the biggest environmental, economic and societal challenges facing humanity today.

‘We are proud of the work our colleagues are doing on developing a better understanding of climate change’ – Professor Robert Van der Noort, Vice-Chancellor

Professor Robert Van de Noort, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Reading, said, “This award is great news for our University. The recent COP26 summit and the IPCC report published in 2021 amply demonstrate the threat that climate changes poses from the global to the local level.

“We are proud of the work our colleagues are doing on developing a better understanding of climate change, on how those hardest hit by a warming planet can be supported, and in bringing this critical issue to classrooms and engaging children with it. It represents truly an institution-wide effort involving colleagues from sciences, agriculture and ecology, social sciences, arts and professional services.”

The Queen’s Anniversary Prizes are granted by Her Majesty The Queen every two years and are considered the highest national honour in higher and further education.

The latest award is the fifth for the University of Reading, having also been award a Prize in 1998, 2006, 2009 and 2012.