University of São Paulo: USP defines list of candidate slates for dean and vice dean of the University

The USP Viva ticket , formed by professors Carlos Gilberto Carlotti Junior and Maria Arminda do Nascimento Arruda, was the most voted in the election to choose the new dean and the new vice-dean of USP, with 1,156 votes. The slate Somos Todos USP , formed by professors Antonio Carlos Hernandes and Maria Aparecida de Andrade Moreira Machado, received 795 votes and is also part of the list that will be forwarded to Governor João Doria, who is responsible for the final choice of the top directors of the University.

The election was held online, on November 25th, and the result was announced this evening, November 25th, by the president of the Electoral Commission and director of the Faculty of Law, Floriano Peixoto de Azevedo Marques Neto, and by the secretary general of the University, Pedro Vitoriano de Oliveira. Click here and access the document released by the Electoral Commission.

The electoral college comprised the members of the University Council, the Central Councils (Graduate, Graduate, Research and Culture and University Extension) and the Congregations of the Units and Deliberative Councils of Museums and Specialized Institutes, which totaled 2,121 voters, of the which 2,002 (94.4%) registered their votes. Each voter could vote for up to two slates. Blank votes totaled 1,915 and null votes 69.

One of the novelties in the process was the constitution of a commission made up of observers outside the University, with three members and one alternate, who were responsible for monitoring the electronic voting and totaling of votes system.

The new dean and vice-dean of USP will take office on January 25, 2022 and will have a four-year term. This will be the 28th rectoral administration in the history of the University, founded in 1934. The first rector of USP was the professor at the Faculty of Law (FD), Reynaldo Porchat, and the first vice-rector, Antonio de Almeida Prado, professor at the Faculty of Medicine (FM). The current dean of USP is the professor at Poli, Vahan Agopyan.

Follow the official announcement of the election results below.

Carlos Gilberto Carlotti Junior is a physician from the Faculty of Medicine of Ribeirão Preto (FMRP), with an outstanding award in the clinical course. He is a neurosurgeon, graduated from the Hospital das Clínicas da FMRP (HCRP), and a specialist by the Brazilian Society of Neurosurgery. He holds a master’s and doctoral degree from FMRP and is a professor at the Faculty’s Department of Surgery and Anatomy. He was clinical director of the HCRP, director of FMRP and president of the Medical Research Foundation of Ribeirão Preto. He is currently dean of Graduate Studies at USP, a position he has held since 2016.

Maria Arminda do Nascimento Arruda has a degree in Social Sciences, a master’s degree, a doctorate and a professorship in Sociology, all from USP. She is a full professor of Sociology at the Faculty of Philosophy, Letters and Human Sciences (FFLCH), where she was director between 2016 and 2020. She was senior researcher at the Institute of Social and Political Studies of São Paulo, dean of Culture and University Extension at USP in the period from 2010 to 2015; and representative of the Sociology Area at Capes and the Human Sciences area on the institution’s Technical-Scientific Council. She is currently the coordinator of the USP Women Office.

We Are All USP Plate

Full Professor at the Physics Institute of São Carlos (IFSC), Antonio Carlos Hernandes holds a PhD in Physics from USP, with an internship at the Universitá di Genova, in Italy. It has already trained more than 250 researchers, from scientific initiation to postdoctoral research. Develops research in the field of Physics and Materials Science. He is coordinator of scientific dissemination at the Center for the Development of Functional Materials (Cepid/Fapesp). He is a member of the Academy of Sciences of the State of São Paulo (ACIESP) and one of the founders of the Brazilian Society for Research in Materials (SBPMat) and of the Brazilian Association for Crystal Growth. He has been chairman of the Fuvest Board of Trustees since 2018. He was Dean of Undergraduate Studies, between 2014 and 2018, and director of the IFSC from 2010 to 2014. He is currently the vice-rector of the University.

Maria Aparecida de Andrade Moreira Machado graduated as a dental surgeon from the Faculty of Dentistry of Bauru (FOB) in 1981, when she was invited to do residency in Pediatric Dentistry at the Hospital for Rehabilitation of Craniofacial Anomalies (HRAC). That same year, she was hired as a specialized pediatric dentist at the Hospital. In 1990, he joined the team of professors in the Discipline of Pediatric Dentistry at FOB. In 2003, she became a full professor and, in 2009, full professor. He was head of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry, Orthodontics and Public Health; vice president of the Faculty’s Graduate Committee; Director and Deputy Director of FOB and Superintendent of HRAC. She is the current Dean of Culture and University Extension at USP.

Comments are closed.