Vocational Training Centres for Tribals

Ministry of Tribal Affairs supports the proposals for construction of vocational training centres received from State Governments through Grants under Article 275(1) of the Constitution and under the scheme of Special Central Assistance to Tribal Sub-Scheme (SCA to TSS). These centres are managed by concerned State Governments only. State-wise location of Vocational Training Centres (VTCs) run by various State Governments that have been funded by the Ministry of Tribal Affairs under the erstwhile scheme of “Vocational Training in Tribal Areas” for imparting skill/training to tribal youths are given below. Operational details like placement facilities are maintained by the respective State Governments.

National Scheduled Tribes Finance Development Corporation (NSTFDC) provides financial assistance in the form of loan through State Channelizing Agencies. Financial assistance is extended to eligible Scheduled Tribe persons for undertaking any income generation activities/ self-employment through its implementing agencies. The main schemes of NSTFDC are as under:

  • Term Loan scheme: NSTFDC provides Term Loan for any income generation scheme costing up to Rs 50.00 lakhs per unit. The financial assistance is extended up to 90% of the cost of the scheme and the balance is met by way of subsidy/ promoter’s contribution/ margin money. The interest rate chargeable is 6% p.a. for loan up to Rs 5 lakhs, 8% p.a. for loan ranging between Rs 5 Lakhs to 10% p.a. for loan exceeding Rs10 lakhs on the entire amount of loan.


  • Micro CREDIT Scheme for Self Help Groups:  The Corporation provides loans up to Rs 50,000 per member and Rs 5 Lakhs per Self Help Group (SHG). The interest rate chargeable is 6% p.a.


  • Adivasi Mahila SashaktikaranYojana (AMSY): Under this scheme, Scheduled Tribes women can undertake any income generation activity. Loan upto 90% for scheme costing up to Rs 2 Lakh is provided at 4% p.a. rate of interest.


  • Adivasi Shiksha Rinn Yojana (ASRY): Under this scheme, financial assistance up to Rs 10.00 lakh at concessional rate of interest of 6% per annum is provided to ST students for pursuing professional/ technical education, including Ph.D. in India. Ministry of Human Resources Development, Govt. of India provides interest subsidy for this scheme, whereby, no interest is payable by a student during the course period and one year or six month after getting the job, as the case may be.

States-wise Location of VTCs funded by the Ministry of Tribal Affairs

1.         Assam


S.No. Location District
1. Khasiabari High School, Kokrajhar
2. Gurmow High School, Rangia
3. Baganpara High School, Nalbari
4. Kapahera High School, Morigaon
5. Parulabal Goswami Bamuni Borbari H.S. Nagaon
6. Dirmajakhili H,S, Golpara
7. Sri Lohit High School, Majuli
8. Rupnath Brahma High School Dhemaji
9. Bihpuria Collegiate High School, Lakhimpur
10. GohpurBoro High School, Gohpur
11. District Computer Centre, Kokrajhar


2.         Chhattisgarh

S.N. Location District
1 TCPC Kanker Kanker
2 TCPC Narayanpur Baster
3 TCPC Dantewada Dantewada
4 TCPC Nagri Dhamtari
5 Kosa Centre Jagdalpur Baster
6 Saw Mill Jagdalpur Baster
7 UVS Kondagaon Baster
8 UVS Durg (Industrial Area) Durg
9 UVS Ratanpur Bilaspur
10 UVS Kunkuri Jashpurnagar
11 Jashpur Jashpurnagar


3.         Gujarat

S.No. Location District
1 Male VTC, Danta Banskantha
2 Male VTC, Bhiloda Sabarkantha
3 Male VTC, Dahod Dahod
4 Male VTC, Chhotaudepur Chhotaudepur
5 Male VTC, Rajpipla Narmada
6 Male VTC,Mandvi Surat
7 Male VTC,Songadh Surat
8 Male VTC,Vansada Navsari
9 Male VTC, Kaparda Valsad
10 Male VTC, Dangahwa Dang
11 Female VTC, Chhotaudepur Chhotaudepur
12 Female VTC, Dahod Dahod
13 Female VTC, Andhroka Sabarkantha


4.         Madhya Pradesh

S. No. Name of VTC Distt.
1. Adarsh High School, Badwani Badwani
2. Adarsh High School, Sailan Ratlam
3. Adarsh High School, Mandla Mandla
4. Adarsh High School, Churhat Sidhi
5. ITI, Baihar Balaghat
6. ITI, Dhamnod Dhar
7. ITI, Pithampur Dhar
8. TCPC, Badwani Badwani
9. TCPC,  Jhabua Jhabua
10. TCPC, Mandla Mandla


5.         Mizoram


S.No. Location
1 VTC Lunglei
2 VTC Serchhip
3 VTC Kolasib
4 VTC Saiha
5 VTC Champhai


This information was given by Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Smt. Renuka Singh Saruta in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.