Washington University Professors Early and Losos Elected to Prestigious American Philosophical Society

Gerald Early, the Merle Kling Professor of Modern Letters in Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, and Jonathan B. Losos, the William H. Danforth Distinguished University Professor in Arts & Sciences and director of the Living Earth Collaborative, have been elected members of the American Philosophical Society.

The oldest learned society in the United States, the American Philosophical Society was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.” Previous members include Willa Cather, Marie Curie, Charles Darwin, Thomas Edison, Robert Frost, Alexander Hamilton, Barbara McClintock, Louis Pasteur and George Washington.

In addition to Early and Losos, 2024 inductees include two WashU alumni. Stacy L. Leeds (AB ’94) is the Willard H. Pedrick Dean and Regents Professor of Law at Arizona State University’s Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law. Danny O. Jacobs (MD ’79) is president and professor of surgery at Oregon Health and Science University.