Workshop on Spanish Speaking Communities


Aligarh : Experts analyzed the growth of Spanish language in the non-Spanish speaking countries and highlighted reasons for migration in the recently concluded nine-day online workshop of the Department of Foreign Languages, Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) on ‘Examining Spanish Speaking Communities in the USA and Abroad from an Interdisciplinary, Global Perspective’.

In the valedictory address, Prof Jawaid Iqbal (Dean, Faculty of International Studies) gave an overview of immigration from Latin America, focusing on changes in both the size and composition of the major flows as well as the entry pathways to lawful permanent residence in the United States.

“History is awash with records of the advantages and disadvantages of migration. The outward and inward immigration will remain a hot issue”, he added.

Mr David Puig (Ambassador of Dominican Republic in India) presented a case study of the Dominican Republic and its roles and responsibilities in relation to outward and inward immigration.

Prof Muhammad Azhar (Chairman, Department of West Asian and North African Studies) called for more academic interaction with the Latin American countries.

Prof M J Warsi (Local coordinator of GIAN Projects in AMU and Chairman, Department of Linguistics) summarized key reasons that influence Latin American immigration.

Dr Murad Ahamad Khan (Course Coordinator) said: “The workshop has helped participants to learn about positive and negative aspects of the migration and the many factors which force people to migrate from South America to USA”.

Dr Murad moderated various sessions with Dr Mayuresh Kumar, Dr Sawan Kumar Singh and Mr Suhail Akhtar.

The programme featured lectures by Prof Emilia Alonso Sameno (Director, Institute for the Empirical Study of Language, Ohio University), Prof Rajiv Saxena (Former Chairperson, Centre of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and Latin American Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University), Mr Federico Salas Lotfe (Ambassador of Mexico in India), Prof Sonya Surabhi Gupta (Director, Centre for European and Latin American Studies, Jamia Millia Islamia), Prof Ash Narain Roy (Director, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi), Dr Noorin Khan (Centre for European and Latin American Studies, Jamia Millia Islamia) and Dr Mayuresh Kumar (AMU).

Mr Abdul Rahman Yasir extended the vote of thanks.


Comments are closed.