Zhejiang University: Prof. YAO Ke appointed President of Asia-Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgeons


In the board of officers meeting of Asia-Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgeons (APACRS) on August 27, Prof. YAO Ke, chair of SAHZU Eye Center, officially took over the presidency of APACRS in succession to Prof. Abhay Vasavada. This is the first time that a Chinese ophthalmologist has chaired the Asia-Pacific Society in this field.

On behalf of the past board of officers, Prof. Abhay Vasavada warmly congratulated Prof. YAO Ke on his new position. Prof. Vasavada said that he has been a good friend of Prof. Yao for many years and always inspired by his passion and motivation for ophthalmology. Prof. Vasavada spoke highly of Prof. Yao’s wisdom, visionary leadership and ability in organizing previous conferences. He sincerely hoped that APACRS would have a brighter future with Prof. YAO’s directorship.

Prof. YAO Ke expressed his admiration to Prof. Abhay Vasavada for his excellent leadership and extraordinary contribution in leading APACRS to overcome difficulties and create opportunities in this challenging time of the global pandemic, and extended his gratitude to the board of officers of APACRS for their trust. “In the future, I will further strengthen the cooperation between Chinese ophthalmologist society and APACRS, especially in cataract and refractive surgery, and do my best to contribute more to the development of APACRS,” said Prof. Yao.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.