4th Edition of Anand Swaroop Memorial National Moot Court Competition inaugurated at Sharda University


New Delhi: The 4th edition of the Anand Swaroop Memorial National Moot Court Competition, the flagship annual event for the School of Law, Sharda University was inaugurated on 4th April, 2019. 37 teams from colleges across India participated in the competition that was inaugurated by Hon’ble Justice Dipak Misra, Former Chief Justice of India and Hon’ble Justice Rakesh Tiwari, Former Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court.
Former Chief Justice Shri Dipak Misra addressed the audience, “Law is a noble profession because we provide selfless service to the society. I would like to encourage the students participating in the Moot competition to selflessly serve the people of the country. Mooting delivers a holistic approach to learning the law, as the students argue imaginary cases for practice, focused solely on the application of Law to a common set of evidentiary assumptions.”

The Guest of Honour, Rakesh Tiwari, addressed the audience about court craft and said, “I would like to thank Sharda University for inviting me to this event and promote experiential learning among students. This is the 4th edition of the Moot Court competition and it witnesses exponential growth as more and more teams participate in the competition. Law is such a noble profession through which one can approach and help the needy. Sharda University stands amongst the upper echelons of the legal fraternity in India as it has always encouraged the students”.
Moot Court competition is aimed at developing advocacy skills in students in order to make them confident lawyers of the future by replicating the real-world environment of courtrooms. The three-day event consists of teams advocating both sides of a simulated issue with an aim to develop advocacy and research skills and help sharpen legal acumen, logical argumentation and critical thinking abilities among law students giving them a chance to get hands-on experience in the operation of legal doctrines in a practical setting.
Also present during the inauguration were, Mr. Y. K. Gupta, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Sharda University, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rakesh Tiwari, Mr. P. K. Gupta, Chancellor, Sharda University, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dipak Misra, Mr. P.K Malhotra, ILS, Former Law Secretary, Govt. of India and Dr. Huma Baqa, Associate Professor, School of Law, Sharda University.