H.P. Agriculture University is 39 0n 1st November

Report by Arvind Sharma, Dharamshala: CSK Himachal Pradesh Agriculture University at Palampur in Kangratrict near hear shall complete Thirty-Nine Years in the Service of Farming Community of Himachal Pradesh.
CSK Himachal Pradesh Agriculture University will turn 39 on 1 November 2017.
The University was inaugurated by the then President of India Mr. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy in 1978. It is ICAR accredited and ISO 9001:2008 certified institution. The University has been given the mandate for making provision for imparting education in agriculture and other allied branches of learning, furthering the advancement of learning and prosecution of research and undertaking extension of such sciences, especially to the rural people of Himachal Pradesh.
Dy Director Public relation of the University Mr Hirday Paul Singh said,” Over the years, this University has contributed greatly in transforming the farm scenario of Himachal Pradesh. Today, the State has earned its name for hill agricultural diversification and the farming community has imposed its faith in the University.”
He added ,”The University has four constituent colleges. The College of Agriculture has 13 departments, Dr.G.C.Negi College of Veterinary & Animal Science has 18 departments, the College of Home Science has five departments and the College of Basic Sciences has four departments. These colleges offer six Bachelor Degree programmes and the Dean, Post Graduate Studies offers 22 Masters Degree & 15 Doctoral Degree programmes.”
At present 1523 (844 girls & 679 boys) students are on roll and more than 6593 students have passed out from the University since its inception. In addition to world-class academic, sports and co-curricular facilities, there are twelve students’hostels, including one International Students’Hostel.
Research Activities: The Directorate of Research coordinates research in the field of agriculture, veterinary and animal sciences, home science and basic sciences. It has been giving priority to the location specific, need-based and problem-oriented research with multidisciplinary approach at main campus Palampur, 3 Regional Research Stations (Bajaura, Dhaulakuan & Kukumseri) and 10 Research Sub-stations (Kangra, Malan, Nagrota, Salooni, Akrot, Berthin Sundernagar, Sangla, Leo & Lari) situated in all the districts of the State (except Solan and Shimla).
The University has developed need-based technologies for the different regions of the State and has released 155 improved varieties of different crops.
Among the leading universities in the hill regions of the country, this University has emerged as a torch bearer for all. It is considered most serene institution in the region with an extremely conducive atmosphere to pursue academic and research activities.
Prof Ashok Kumar Sarial, Vice-Chancellor, said,” the university has accepted news emerging challenges in agriculture as opportunities. Recently, twenty farm based models have been formulated and shared with the agriculture and animal husbandry departments of the state government and efforts have been made to educate and motivate the farmers to adopt the models as per the agro-climatic conditions of their area and their requirements. He says that the credit for the achievements, whether minuscule or significant, goes equally to dedicated faculty, hard-working and disciplined students and non-teaching staff. The university will continue to work with untiring efforts for the betterment of socio-economic status of the farming community of the state. “