ILO to release a report on the role of collective bargaining in fighting inequality

GENEVA  – The International Labour Organization (ILO) is to launch a new report on the role of collective agreements in the world of work, the first of a series of flagship reports on Social Dialogue, on Thursday 5 May.

The report focuses on the importance of collective bargaining in achieving a human-centred recovery and fighting the inequalities that have worsened during the COVID-19 crisis.

It examines the role of collective agreements in mitigating the impact of the pandemic on employment and earnings by reinforcing the resilience of enterprises and labour markets, ensuring workers’ health and safety and supporting the continuity of economic activity.

The report also explains how collective agreements can contribute to tackle the fundamental changes that are shaking up the world of work.

The report and all associated materials will be under STRICT EMBARGO until Thursday 5 May at 13:00 CEST (11:00 GMT).

For UNOG-accredited correspondents, an embargoed virtual press briefing will take place on Thursday 5 May from 11:00 to 12:00 CEST (9:00 to 10:00 GMT). Login details will be sent to journalists ahead of the briefing.

Selected regional journalists will be able to follow the virtual briefing via YouTube. The link will be sent in advance.

Guy Ryder, ILO Director-General, and Vera Paquete-Perdigao, Director of the ILO’s Governance department, will present the findings at the press briefing.

Embargoed copies of the report and press release can be made available to recognized media on request.

Audio of the briefing will be available to the Palais press corps and registered journalists after the press conference.

Comments are closed.