President of India presents Padma Awards

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind conferred Padma awards to the winners on Saturday at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the padma awards are regarded as the highest civilian honour of India. The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

A total of 112 personalities were selected for the Padma awards this year, which was announced on the eve of Republic Day.

The list contains 4 Padma Vibhushans , 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shris. A total of 21 females, 11 NRI’S , and 1 transgender feature in the list. The awards were also conferred posthomously on 3 people.

Mountaineer Bachendri Pal, has been conferred the Padma Bhushan which is the third highest civilian honour.

The first set of Padma Awards were given on 11th of this month in which president Kovind had presented 54 padma awards and the rest 58 padma awards were conferred on Saturday.

Gujarat’s Abdul Gafur khattri , has been conferred the Padma shri for his efforts in taking Rogan Art to new heights.

Actor Manoj Bajpayee from the entertainment industry and Cricketer Gautam Gambhir have been awarded Padmshri.

Personalities with exceptional achievements from Odisha – D Prakash Rao- The famous chaiwala from Cuttack, Kamala Pujari for her commendable job in preserving indigenous paddy variety, received the coveted Padmashri.

A farmer from Bulandshahar, Bharat Bhushan Tyagi has also been awarded for promoting organic farming.

Padma awards are conferred for distinguished service in the field and discipline of civil services, social work, science and technology, trade and industry, medicine, literature, education, sports, arts and many others. Every year these awards are conferred in the Rashtrapati Bhavan by the president of India.