San Diego State University: Distinguished Faculty Honored for Their Contributions


Nine San Diego State University faculty members have been selected to receive the 2022-23 SDSU Alumni Distinguished Faculty Awards for contributions to the university and their respective fields.

SDSU President Adela de la Torre, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Salvador Hector Ochoa, and Risa Baron, president of the SDSU Alumni Board of Directors, will recognize the recipients at the All-University Convocation at 10 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 18, at Montezuma Hall in the Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union.

All-University Convocation offers the SDSU campus community an opportunity to reflect on the exceptional work of faculty and staff, while also looking to the year ahead and continuing the university’s celebration of its 125th anniversary year.

The faculty awards include an honorarium from the SDSU Alumni Association.

This year’s honorees are:

Elisa Sobo, anthropology, College of Arts and Letters
Kamal Haddad, finance, Fowler College of Business
Frank Harris III, Administration, Rehabilitation, and Postsecondary Education, College of Education
George Youssef, mechanical engineering, College of Engineering
Sonja Pruitt-Lord, School of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, College of Health and Human Services
Sherry Ryan, School of Public Affairs, College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
Richard Levine, mathematics and statistics, College of Sciences
Gloria Rhodes, Outreach and Diversity Initiatives, University Library
Magdalena Altamirano, Spanish, SDSU Imperial Valley

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.