University of Tokyo: AUA Biodiversity Photo Contest – UTokyo staff wins third prize

The Asian Universities Alliance (AUA), of which UTokyo is a member, celebrates its fifth anniversary in 2022.
With the first part of the UN Biodiversity Conference (COP 15) taking place in Kunming, China in October 2021 and the second part of COP15 being scheduled to take place during 2022 to negotiate a post-2020 global biodiversity framework, AUA and Tsinghua Shenzhen International Graduate School (Tsinghua SIGS) organized a photography contest, under the theme “Community of Life : Biodiversity Through the Lens” in order to bring greater attention to this issue within the AUA community.
* The second part of COP 15 was originally scheduled to be held from April 25 to May 8, 2022 but has been postponed to the third quarter of 2022 (dates to be determined).

The contest was part of a number of events discussing critical global and regional challenges for AUA’s 5th Anniversary.
AUA called upon students, faculty, and staff in AUA member universities to contribute their perspectives on biodiversity through the camera lens. Results are now out for the AUA Biodiversity Photo Contest that took place between January and April 2022. Ninety students, faculty members, and staff from twelve AUA member universities including UTokyo submitted over 500 photographs.
“Warmth of Family”, photographed by Mr. SHIMA Hiroyuki, Assistant Manager in the International Strategy Group at UTokyo, won the third place for the digital camera category in this contest.

Please visit the AUA Biodiversity Photography Exhibition websites from the links below!

・AUA Biodiversity Photography Exhibition
・AUA Biodiversity Photo Exhibition Opening Ceremony
・AUA Biodiversity Photo Contest Winners Announced

Participants of Photo Contest : The University of Tokyo, Chulalongkorn University, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, King Saud University, National University of Singapore, Nazarbayev University, Peking University, Seoul National University, Tsinghua University, Universiti Malaya, and University of Colombo.

・AUA Outline
The Asian Universities Alliance (AUA) is a regional organization established in 2017 with the aim of jointly addressing regional and global challenges, specifically related to higher education and economic, scientific and technological development, by strengthening collaboration among member institutions. AUA acknowledges and promotes shared identity and values in working towards this mission.

・Member Universities (15)
The University of Tokyo, Japan
Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
King Saud University, Saudi Arabia
National University of Singapore, Singapore
Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
Peking University, China
Seoul National University, Republic of Korea
Tsinghua University, China
United Arab Emirates University, United Arab Emirates
Universitas Indonesia, Indonesia
University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
University of Malaya, Malaysia
University of Yangon, Myanmar